Change through time.

Started by Gen. Volkov, November 05, 2007, 12:56:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gen. Volkov

So when I first got here, way back in the early days of first era, I was a total noob. But I thought I was good because I was ranked 4th in the server when I left. (BTW, if any of you know Shorestar, you can thank her for introducing me to this game.) I came back, and I still thought I was good. I wasn't, but I thought I was. Funny how that works. So as I started to play again, I was totally unfamiliar with the new strats, but I refused to ask for help, so I didn't even realize why I couldn't get above 30 mil NW, while everyone in the top ten was above 100 mil NW. Then I began talking to people and started to realize just how far behind I was. Still full of braggadocio though. I wasn't going to let anyone know that I had realized I was a bad player. Though I'm pretty sure everyone else knew. That was all in the first few months. After that, I learned the basic strats, and started developing my own. Went off and played in a bunch of other games and got truly good. Though I started off well behind, I did eventually catch up. Went on to do many cool things in this game and others. If I had realized just how bad I was at first though, and allowed someone to tell me what I was doing wrong though, I probably could have developed much faster.

Anyone else have any memories of just starting out and how they developed into the player they are today? Or any stories of how they are different now than they were when they first came to RWL? (I know I've changed in other aspects as well.)
It is said that when Rincewind dies the occult ability of the entire human race will go up by a fraction. -Terry Pratchett

cloud says: I'm pretty sure I'm immune to everything that I can be immune to...brb snorting anthrax.

Sticker334 says(Peace Alliance): OMG! HOBOES

The Lady Shael